Bertie Ahern’s Most Memorable Quotes

Bertie Ahern stepped down as Taoiseach (Prime Minister of Ireland) 6 years ago today. He was in office for an historic 3 consecutive terms and enjoyed consistently high popularity ratings throughout his 11 years in power.

However, he also had a reputation for using Bertiespeak, memorable malapropisms, and making controversial off-the-cuff remarks.

Below are some of Bertie’s more famous (and infamous!) quotes.

  1. In actual fact, the reason it’s on the rise is because probably the boom times are getting even more boomer.

  2. Anyway, it was the collapse of Lehman Brothers that did the real damage. That decision will in history be written as the biggest mistake that American administration ever made, because Lehman’s was a world investment bank. They had testicles everywhere.

  3. Charles J Haughey wanted to transform Temple Bar into Ireland’s West Bank.

  4. The cynics may point to the past but we live in the future.

  5. The grass roots, or the rank and file, are now made from fibre optics.

  6. With hindsight, we all have 50/50 vision.

  7. I could certainly drink a fair few pints of Bass and be capable of driving.

  8. I don’t know how people who engage in that don’t commit suicide.

  9. I don’t think it helps people to start throwing white elephants and red herrings at each other.

  10. I never condemn wrongdoing in any area.

  11. I think Charlie Haughey is basically a very good man and unfortunately he got into things like the lifestyle, and the bills caused him to do some things that I feel very strongly about.

  12. It’s all smoke and daggers.

  13. It took Ireland thirty years to become an overnight success.

  14. For legal and professional reasons, neither myself nor my advisors have been in a position to respond to any of the accuracy and completeness of the reports about those issues so it is not correct, if I said so I wasn’t correct, so I, I can’t recall if I did say, but I did not say, if I did say it I didn’t mean to say it that these issues could not be dealt with until the end of the Mahon Tribunal. That is not what Revenue said.

  15. Neutrality is not and never has been anything but absolutely clear.

  16. At present, I have my hand in a whole lot of dykes, trying to keep them in and keep people together.

  17. There are kebabs out there plotting against us.

  18. There have been disputes between fractions.

  19. There is a code of ethics whereby those who have been elected to the House try to remain elected. That is the code of ethics in this House.

  20. We haven’t been able to do all that we can.

  21. We’re not gonna hang anyone on the guillotine.

  22. We shouldn’t upset the apple tart.

PS: Follow the Wikiquote link below for context of 1st, 8th, and 10th entries. And thanks to Wikiquote for linking to this post! 🙂

Related Links

Leave a reply

